Johnson Elementary Home of the Jaguars

Skip to main content
MORE INFO on our Facebook Page!
Mobile Menu

Bryan ISD Board Approves New Principal & Director Hires

During the May 5 Board of Trustees noon workshop, the board approved the administration's recommendation to hire the following new principals and directors:
New principal at Neal Elementary—Ms. Juanita Collins, current assistant principal at Neal Elementary, was promoted to lead Neal after the current principal, Ms. Linda Asberry, retires at the end of this school year. Brief bio: Collins served as assistant principal from 2012 – 2014 and was previously a master teacher at Neal for four years. Prior to that she was a 3rd grade bilingual teacher at Neal for three years. She taught 5th grade in San Felipe Del Rio CISD from 1998 – 2005. She holds a master’s degree in educational administration from Lamar University.

New principal at Kemp-Carver Elementary—Ms. Alison Boggan, the current assistant principal at Kemp-Carver, was approved to serve as principal upon the resignation of Ms. Bren McCullar at the end of this school year. Brief bio: Boggan previously served as dean of instruction at Kemp-Carver from 1998 – 2013. She earned a bachelor of science degree from Texas State University and a master of educational administration from Texas A&M University.

New principal at Mitchell Elementary—Mr. John Rokenbrod of Chesterfield, Virginia, was approved to lead Mitchell upon the transfer of Dr. Karen Kaspar. Brief bio: Rokenbrod most recently served as Amelia County Public Schools Supervisor of Technology & Public Relations and Principal of Amelia County ES, in Amelia, Virginia. He has served in that role since July 2012. Prior to that he served as Amelia County Public Schools Coordinator of Testing, Technology, and Public Relations; Assistant to the Gifted Coordinator. He was principal of Amelia County High School from 2010-2011 and served as assistant principal at Mills Godwin High School from 2008-2010. Prior service included assistant principal positions at middle and high schools. He holds a bachelor of arts degree in history from Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University and a master of education degree in administration and supervision from Virginia Commonwealth University.

New director of fine arts—The board approved Mr. Nicholas Luggerio, of Conroe, for the new position of director of fine arts. Previously, a single director, Mr. David Reynolds, administered fine arts and career/technology education. Brief bio: Luggerio previously served as director of fine arts/director of bands for Huntsville ISD from 2004 – 2014 and director of bands for five years at Crosby ISD. He earned a bachelor of science degree from Texas A&M University in 1992, a JD from South Texas College of Law in 1995, a bachelor of music degree from Stephen F. Austin State University in 1998, and in 2003 he received his master’s in music from Sam Houston State University.

New director of curriculum and instruction—the board approved Ms. Kammi Green as the new director of curriculum. Brief bio: Green previously served as interim superintendent for Anderson-Shiro CISD and Anderson-Shiro CISD assistant superintendent. Prior to that she was executive director of instruction and accountability from 2010 – 2012 and director of curriculum and instruction from 2007 – 2010. She previously served in Bryan ISD as professional development specialist from 2006 – 2007. She earned a bachelor of science in interdisciplinary studies from Texas A&M University and a master of educational administration degree from Texas A&M.
The board also received information about Dr. Karen Kaspar transferring from Mitchell to Branch for the 2014-2015 school year. Ms. Tammy Brinkman, Branch’s current principal, has resigned effective at the end of this school year.